Skip to content

Blogimanjaro

July 11, 2010

At the end of August I will attempt to achieve one of my long time goals – climbing Kilimanjaro. At 5895m (19340ft) high, Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania is Africa’s roof top and the world’s highest free standing mountain I have had a mild obsession with Kilimanjaro for about 7 or 8 years now. I’m not sure how it all started. It was probably something I had heard about in passing, researched the mountain and the country and I was hooked. For me, Kilimanjaro encompasses my love of travel with an endurance event to push my limits.  It doesn’t hurt that Kilimanjaro is also within driving distance to the Serengeti, Tanzania’s oldest and most popular national park.

In order to summit, we will take the Lemosho Route. The route approaches Mount Kilimanjaro from the west and we chose it because I’ve read it’s an ideal balance of low traffic, beautiful scenery and a high summit success rate.

Although Kilimanjaro is a non technical mountain we will be walking 4-8 hours a day while possibly battling symptoms of altitude sickness. With that said however we will have the luxury of a guide to lead the way and porters to carry our belongings and cook us meals.

I have to say that we have been slacking in the kili-training department. Dave and I have been doing weeknight walks and weekend hikes but probably not enough to really become accustomed to an 8 day hike.  Over the next month I’m hoping to kick things into gear exercise-wise and hopefully make my dream trip a bit more comfortable.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 10:56 pm

    Ah August is almost here! You must be so excited!

    • July 29, 2010 11:34 pm

      I’m getting so excited! There is still so much to do. I really have to fiqure out where to buy long underwear in the middle of summer. It is supposed to be up to -20C at the summit!

  2. July 30, 2010 6:19 am

    OOOOH so jealous. I want to do it next year or the year after. =)

    I think I’m like you- I get obsessed with something and want to see/ climb it.

    I saw Everest (a dream of mine for a LONG time) just a few months ago- but didn’t climb it. =P

Trackbacks

  1. Manitoulin Dayhike « Sporadic Sprinter: a running, weight loss, genealogy, volunteering etc. blog
  2. Tanzania Wrap-up « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog

Leave a Reply

