Skip to content

Overheated!

July 24, 2010

Running fail

A few days ago I checked the weather for the weekend and it was supposed to be raining and “cool” on Saturday. Looking out the window today I saw clouds and decided it must be true. Well I was wrong. It was 30C out, I was wearing a black heat-absorbing baseball cap and I didn’t bring water. Normally I don’t bring water for such a short run but I was so overheated I wish I had. I stopped briefly at a Tim Hortons to splash water on my face. As evidence from my super cool nike+ speed versus distance graph I was going pretty strong in the heat until the end when disaster struck. I was running slowly up a hill and then bam! I was completely nauseated and kind of dizzy. The major dip in speed is as a result of me sitting in the shade beside a building trying not to vomit. I eventually hauled myself up and slowly walked the rest of the way home. Note to self : if really hot out, drink liquids.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

