Skip to content

Back up to 5k

July 29, 2010

This past October I was completing training long-runs around 25-30km a piece. Man I was super-duper impressed with myself!  I stopped running after  “the incident”  and have  recently began getting back on track (no pun intended!).  It’s hard to deal with the fact that only 8 months ago I was pumping out half-marathon distances like it were nothing  and now I’m huffing and puffing through a couple of kilometers. As part of my new philosophy in fitness life I am trying to take things slow. The last couple of weeks I have only completed 5 run/walks all of which were below the 5k mark. Partially this was intentional, partially because the first month of couch to 5k is miserable. Last night I was feeling really good. I managed to go a fair distance before my first walking break. In fact I was feeling so good I became one of those annoying people you see running in place at the traffic lights waiting to cross. And I normally can’t stand those people. I ended up modifying my run midway through in order to cross the 5k distance.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 2:07 pm

    Bah! I totally curse under my breath at those people,jogging in place, mocking me with their athletic ability.

    YAY for progress! You’ll be back where you were in NO time. Hey – life would be boring without these hiccups, right?

Leave a Reply

