Skip to content

Review: Secrets of a Former Fat Girl

August 5, 2010

I once suffered through reading the first book in the shopaholic series. I just didn’t like the main character. My roommate at the time kept saying “no, she grows on you!” but it never happened.  I felt like I was re-living this suffering while reading the beginning of Secrets of a Former Fat Girl.  The fact that the author acknowledges that I’ll probably dislike the main character in the first line didn’t give me much confidence.

You don’t know me, but you probably hate me. I’m the girl in the size 2 jeans with the ten marathon medals hanging on the wall, the girl who cracks the joke that gets the whole room laughing, the girl who never goes without her daily chocolate fix and looks as if she doesn’t know the meaning of the word diet. You don’t know me, but I know you. I know you because I was you.

The author spends the first chapter describing how she basically felt emotionally traumatized in her youth as a result of her weight. Towards the end of the chapter she drops a bombshell. At her highest weight she was 185 lbs. Seriously? That’s it? Maybe things were different back when jazzercise was popular. 

“Secrets of a Former Fat Girl” isn’t a how-to weight loss book. Rather it is a motivational book giving some of her personal experiences.  Toward the last half of the book the author says a few interesting things. One thing that particularly resonated with me was Secret #5, – Remember, you are not like other people. She writes:

I had never been able to think about food without conjuring up all sorts of emotions. From the outside I might have looked as though I just didn’t care when I went back to the dessert buffet for seconds, but inside there was a world-class battle going on.

I thought this simple statement “Remember, you are not like other people” was fantastic. I explained this to my husband and shared with him an example. I was at a conference a few months ago and staying at a hotel on the 7th floor. I knew there was a vending machine in the basement. The potato chips were calling my name all week.  They were relentless. My husband was like – ‘yeah, that’s not normal.’

All in all I wasn’t in love with this book. It took me a tortured two months to get through.  In the end the author came out with interesting things I could relate to. But mostly I found that I am not as introverted as the girl of the author’s past. I can live out of my comfort-zone and strive to find opportunities to do so.  There are some people, such as here , that love this book which is why I purchased the book to begin with.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

