Skip to content

Making a Commitment

September 28, 2010

I realized the other day that I have been running on and off now for almost 5 years. I ran my first 10k run in Reykjavik, Iceland in August 2006 as part of a charity event for Team Diabetes Canada. I hated running so I stopped the dreadful sport after I crossed the finish line. “I am done for good” I said. But not too long after I decided I wanted to continue working with the Canadian Diabetes Association and I was lured in by glamorous international travel  so I signed up for my next race – a half marathon in Rio de Janiero that I completed July 2008. And even though I was only slightly hating running by then I never found the motivation to keep going. But I was hooked in again by the fabulous people at the Sudbury CDA office so I I fundraised even more money for the Canadian Diabetes Association and attempted my first marathon in Athens, Greece this past November.  It was a terrible race and I was removed from the course on account of my slowness.  I was so angry that I stopped running that day. Do you detect a pattern here? Start. Stop. Start. Stop.

I have been trying to get back on track with running since July and I’ve dabbled with it here and there. Sometimes I hate it and sometimes I love it. Mostly it just seems like a good sport for me. Now that I feel recovered from the traumatic experience in Athens I have decided to make a commitment to running and a commitment to myself. I am going to start from square one and (re-)train for a marathon. This time I’m not doing it for charity, I’m running this marathon just for me. Because I know I can cross that finish line.

Leave a Reply

