Skip to content

A Running Partner

October 2, 2010

Tonight I ran with my husband for the first time. This definitely mixed things up. I have always run alone. I have never convinced anyone to join me in my running journey and I have never reached out to any of the local running clubs. Unfortunately my running partner fantasy didn’t jive very well with reality. Even though this is the first run David has done since … hum … before we met he was much faster than me. I expected this. I am incredibly slow.

And now that I am out of shape again I am another min/km slower than normal. It was a little ackward since I was running at the exact pace that is David’s threshold between running and power walking. So he was doing a mixture of the two. Hopefully soon I will be more in shape so Dave can join me in an occasional run at a more comfortable pace.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 7:13 pm

    haha – Congrats! Running as a couple always has it’s up(s) and down(s). Mainly – enjoy the fact that you CAN do it together … no matter HOW you do it. One time, my hubby was trying to get me to run faster … you know, to “push me” to “be my best!” But I’m the type of runner who is happy just crossing the finish line. Thus, after his “encouraging” words, I banned him from running with me for a few months. ha! I’m no faster now than when I started (in fact, I’m slower), but he knows I’m not about speed and I know he doesn’t run with me for his own exercise, and in the middle, we enjoy being able to do it together.

    • October 5, 2010 7:17 pm

      Did you try to run together again after the appropriate punishment time period?

Leave a Reply

