Skip to content

Slow Marathons: which to choose

October 8, 2010
Image Credit: ant.photos

I’ve been thinking recently about my prospects for another marathon attempt. It seems from my history that I really need a goal to be motivated. Since I’m starting from scratch (again) I’m going to need a good length of time to get back in the groove. Plus I’m really, really hoping I can convince someone, anyone a slow runner to join me in this adventure and most likely this person may not even run whatsoever. Given that I am solely looking to cross the finish line I can re-train in a year’s time – so I’m looking for events in late 2011 or early 2012. End of the world run, perhaps?

I am more than happy to travel to a marathon destination. In fact, my intended time frame is smack-dab in the middle of the canadian winter so either I wait until May 2012 or fly to somewhere warm and sunny.

Here is a list I have compiled of slow marathons in North America that look interesting:

Date
Event
Time Limit
Comments
Sept. 2011
8 Hours
Headphones at own risk. Race reserves the right to pickup runners who fall behind the pace required.
Dec. 2011
 No limit
All participants can finish. All support services will be open from 5:00 AM to 2:00 PM. The Finish Line will maintain most of its services until the official close at 4 PM. Headphones at own risk.
Jan. 2012
7 Hours
All athletes entering the Marathon must maintain a 16-minute per mile pace or faster throughout the race.
Jan. 2012
7 Hours
3:15 for check point, 6 hours for the course, 7 hours for the finish line (use sidewalks). Extremely flat course.
Feb. 2012
8 Hours
 Headphones are not permitted.
Mar. 2012
8 Hours
Streets re-open to traffic at an approx.13-minute per mile pace.  The time limit is strictly enforced. Headphones permitted.
May 2012
7 Hours?
Hilly course.
May 2012
8 Hours
There is a strict 2:00pm course closure time. Sidewalk heavy use for slow runners.
May 2012
10.5 Hours?
The route is somewhat hilly and challenging.
Jun. 2012
9 Hours
Flat Course not exceeding 120 ft. Headphones not permitted.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 11:24 am

    I would love to the Walt Disney World Marathon but I heard it is FREEZING that time of year? I don’t do well in cold temps!

    • October 10, 2010 12:11 pm

      Freezing? Really? but there are disney characters to high five along the way!

      My definition of freezing for running is less than 10C (I’m a Canadian) – I prefer to run inside after that!

Leave a Reply

