Skip to content

Channeling Martha Stewart

October 12, 2010

As a teenager I hated Martha and all she stood for. Thinking back it was probably left-over resentment from one of my dad’s girlfriends who was a little too crafty. I never was very domestic and somehow got away with basically having no chores throughout my teenage years. The first 3 months of university I had been washing my clothes in fabric softener until someone inquired where my detergent was;  it had a cute bear on the bottle, what can I say?

Over the last couple of years I’ve developed an admiration for Martha and company. I have taken an interest in cooking and entertaining.  So in an effort to channel Martha I took some inspiration from her website to set my Thanksgiving table. I spray-painted some gourds I got at the grocery store and added some apples from my in-laws yard and leftover cranberries. Here is the result:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2010 2:50 pm

    Impressive! I’m into cooking but decorating is beyond me.

    And I had to laugh at using fabric softner as detergent. I loved the Snuggle bear too! I always took my laundry home and remember getting stuck at school and forced to wash my clothes. I had to call my grandma for advice. After a dozen questions, she said “Just wash everything in cold!”

  2. October 21, 2010 6:31 pm

    Family is advice is great. I once called home to ask if chicken is the one that you want pink inside, or was that beef? I’m a vegetarian and I was attempting to cook something for a boyfriend. I was told to stick to veggie food.

Leave a Reply

