Skip to content

Beginning of a New Travel Obsession: The Pacific Coast

October 17, 2010
Image Credit: ippei + janine’s Flickr Page

Over the last 8 years I’ve been daydreaming about my dream Tanzanian vacation. If I was feeling the travel itch I would read up about the region. This would inevitably lead me to look into neighbouring regions until I knew about tourist destinations in most of eastern/southern Africa. Since my dream trip came true I’ve been feeling something lacking.  Don’t get me wrong – the trip was fantastic but I need a new daydream, something to look forward to.

Today I’ve stumbled upon what I think is the beginning of my new travel obsession, the pacific coast. Which part do you ask? Almost all of it! I’ve heard of flight passes for different countries or continents but today I came across a flight pass called “Circle Pacific.”  This is essentially a grand tour around the pacific. Here’s a sample itinerary:

Vancouver -> Honolulu -> Auckland -> Sydney -> Bangkok ->  Tokyo -> Vancouver
The combinations are almost infinite This would check off 2 of the world’s continents and give a brief perspective of some major cities in Oceania and Asia. Sushi in Japan. Diving in Australia. Zorbing in New Zealand.  Just think of the daydreaming possibilities! I’m sure this will keep my interest for the next 8 years. Now I just need to get a stable job to pay for it….
3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 10:48 pm

    Is this through Alaska Airlines? They have great trips along the Pacific Coast. I understand your obsession. I too am obsessed right now with travel between Alaska and Hawaii.

    I hope you get to make your daydream a reality. You can do it!

    • October 21, 2010 6:36 pm

      There are a bunch of companies that run the “Circle Pacific” airpass. Star Alliance and One World are the big two but there are a few others. I’m not sure if Alaska Airlines belongs to either of the alliances.

      I’ve been looking at Hawaii for a few weeks now. The island group has 3 of the 10 slow marathons I found in North America. Honolulu Marathon doesn’t even have a time limit! That is truly tempting to me. And hey – it’s Hawaii! That’s tempting enough.

  2. April 3, 2012 10:52 am

    Really interesting that the HOnolulu Marathon does not have a time limit!!!YAA I have to put that one on my list!

Leave a Reply

