Skip to content

Hello Infrequently Used Muscles

November 14, 2010

So I’ve heard of Zumba, mostly through Facebook status updates of acquaintances.  Most of the comments were positive so a few months ago I looked up the local classes online. It turned out that most of the classes offered were offered at schools which were pretty much out-of-the-way. I figured if I had to take 2+ buses there my attendance would be more than sporadic. This week I was browsing the YMCA website and noticed they have started to offer a class. So yesterday I gave it a chance.

It was pretty fun! The class was almost full, ~35 women and 2 men. In fact one of the men left early – he probably didn’t like the shoulder shimmies. Zumba is still an aerobics class but there seemed to be less emphasis on nailing the steps perfectly which I liked.  Infusing dancing into an aerobics workout made it feel less work. Except my body disagreed and many of my infrequently used muscles are screaming at me today. So much for Sunday’s run. At least I went for a run yesterday after Zumba because I procrastinated all week am a fitness goddess.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 17, 2010 9:59 pm

    Isn’t Zumba like dance and yoga mixed together?

    An acquaintance of mine was talking about those classes too.

    • November 18, 2010 4:36 pm

      Definitely dance, not so much yoga (at least at the local Y). I’m terrible at yoga! Think aerobics with some loose belly dancing, bollywood and maybe some hip hop thrown in.

  2. November 22, 2010 12:57 pm

    I’m glad you got to try it! It’s pretty fun.

Leave a Reply

