Skip to content

Pity-Party

December 16, 2010

[Warning: pity-party to follow] I am working as a research assistant on a government-funded science experiment  (no complains there!). Sometimes there is a trade-off between available labour and funding and for our case available labour is plentiful. Our experiment required a foot of water/plastic around the detector and this takes the form of “water-boxes” – 524 cardboard boxes with a plastic liners filled with water and plastic beads in each corner.

So for the last 4 weeks I’ve been putting together cardboard boxes. Yep – that’s what 8 years at university gets you boys and girls. And since we don’t want the beads to leak out there is about 10-12 ft of tape on each box put there meticulously by hand, my hand. While standing All Day Long.  Did I mention I hurt my back before any of this started? To make matters worse, this work is all done underground at SNOLAB, an underground clean room laboratory located in an active mine. So every morning I’ve been getting up at 4:30 am to be able to drive to the mine site, get changed and catch the cage down at 6 am.

But now my time with the water-boxes and my pity-party has come to an end! Rejoice! Now I just have to wrap Christmas presents…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2010 1:25 am

    8 years! Wow- do you have a PhD?

    That sounds meticulous, but fun! Though the caging and going into a mine doesn’t sound so fun… 😦

  2. Sheryl permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:46 pm

    oh you made me laugh out loud! the old fashioned way!.
    Thank you for this!!
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Into the Abyss: a Journey Inside the SNO+ Detector « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog

Leave a Reply

