Skip to content

For my 12 Days of Christmas…

December 20, 2010

…I will be working on my time management skills. Have you ever seen the movie “Four Christmases?” Well it sure rings a bell in my family. Although I’m not flying off to ‘innoculate babies in Burma’ my husband and I both have divorced parents which creates a bit of a scheduling nightmare around the holidays. This combined with wanting to see friends and extended relatives gives us a grand total of 9 Christmases this year!

On the weekend we attended Christmas No.1 and 2 with Dave’s family as his sister came to town. We also ate our way through Dave’s company end-of-year party. Let’s just say I was calling it the “No Calorie Weekend!” Yum!

This week, in an attempt to see some of friends that are in town just for the holidays, we have invited ourselves to been invited to 2 friend’s family Christmas events. My time management skills will be called into question starting on the 24th when we have 2 events, the 25th another 2 more, and it all peaks out the 26th with 3 Christmas events. This is just in time to go “Boxing Day” shopping on the 27th (My city has a by-law that prevents stores to open on the 26th).

After the 12 days of 9 events of Christmas there will be no swans-a-swimming or geese-a-laying, only Taylor-a-sleeping.

Christmas 2009

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 22, 2010 1:43 pm

    Hey! 🙂 I’m so glad you found my blog too! …because now we can be TURKEY FRIENDS!! 😀
    I’m so excited that you signed up for this event! Have you done Team D before? Have you ever been to Istanbul? I’m really pumped about this marathon already!
    Also, I love the pic of you with p90x above! How did you like the workouts? As you probably discovered on my blog, I LOVE Tony. I’m a huge fan of p90x, I just discovered it in November and it helped me do a pullup, which I am pretty proud of.
    Happy to be blog friends, and good luck with your 4 Christmases! (Mine will be like that too, I hear ya! But the more Christmases, the merrier, right?)

    • December 22, 2010 5:02 pm

      I’ve done Team Diabetes Reykjavik 06, Rio de Janeiro 08 and Athens 09. I haven’t completed a marathon yet (I was sadly removed from the course in Athens for being a slowpoke). The current plan is to do the 15k in Istanbul and train for the Disney Marathon since it has much friendlier time restriction. I haven’t been to Istanbul but I almost went to Turkey for my honeymoon!

      I tried out P90x lean last winter but I only made it halfway through before I got distracted. I was finally able to do “manly” pushups for the first time!

      Have a Merry and Stress-free Christmas!

  2. December 29, 2010 7:52 pm

    Amazing!! It’s incredible that you’ve done so many Team D events! And inspiring that you’ve managed to train and raise all that money so many times 🙂 I’m just getting started with my Turkey fundraising, and it’s a bit daunting this time because I feel like I just finished asking people for $. However, I’m trying to do a few more events to mix it up!
    I’ve heard great things about the Disney Marathon, and I’m sure we’re going to have a blast in Istanbul. I honestly can hardly wait – I’ve really got the marathon/travel bug.
    As for p90x, I’m still doing it in hopes of becoming a pull-up queen! Right now I can do one – I need more upper body strength!
    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and are on your way to a happy 2011! 🙂

Leave a Reply

