Skip to content

Non-Conformist Resolutions

January 3, 2011

Just 3 days into 2011 and I’m already re-doing my New Year’s Resolutions, typical me. I stumbled onto an inspiring website by Chris Guillebeau called The Art of Non-Conformity. The author of this website has pledged to visit all 192 UN member countries by his 35th birthday (2013). As someone with the travel bug many of his articles resonate with me.  One article particularly, How to conduct your own Annual Review, caught my eye. It’s his template for planning a road map for one year’s time with measurable goals in several categories. I now have a spreadsheet with year-long goals, metrics and long-term plans. I now have a total of eighteen goals for 2011 in the areas of Health, Financial, Friends & Family, Learning, Service and Travel. Some of the highlights include sending handwritten thank you notes, taking a professional development course, and obtaining career-minded employment. I’m not going to list them all because I feel like it’s been a bit of a personal journey.

If you’ve got the travel bug like me I think you should check out his website. There is some interesting reading about, among other things, round-the-world flights.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

