Skip to content

For a Love of Spreadsheets: BodyMedia FIT

March 7, 2011

Being a spreadsheet goddess I can really appreciate the power of data. I remember how I felt when I realized 3500 calories ~ 1 lb because suddenly weight loss became math. And I like math. I understand math.  I also remember how I felt when I realized that the garden vegetable sandwich at Tim Horton’s had about the same number of calories as a Big Mac. Some people argue quality over quantity, as a lover of mathematical equations I will always be drawn to quantifying the world. For me, it’s all about the calorie balance.

BodyMedia FIT Results

It’s relatively easy to figure out how many calories you consume in a day, however I find it much more difficult to quantify the amount of calories expended. This is where the BodyMedia FIT comes into play because it does just that. It measures this with an accelerometer as well as skin response measurements for sweat and heat. I recognise that this is by far not a perfect system but it is a lot better than finding a calculator online to find out my Base Metabolic Rate (BMR) and then calculating how many calories someone my age and weight will burn doing various tasks.

So now I can play with all the fun graphs and optimize. Fun!

Calorie/min throughout the day

Number of steps taken throughout the day

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    March 8, 2011 10:56 pm

    Glad to hear you love mathematical equations – we do too!
    Jack and Judy (J squared)

Trackbacks

  1. BodyMedia FIT: first month review « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog

Leave a Reply

