Skip to content

Dust Off Those Running Shoes. It’s Back to Running!

March 10, 2011

This morning I (re-)discovered 4 things about returning to running this year.

  1. It’s been waaaay too long. Putting on my sports bra this morning was a challenge since I gained 10 lbs since November. Oops. Then I went to get my runners from the shoe rack and dust flew everywhere. Literally. Apparently the our robotic vacuum cleaner only does the carpets.  I stepped up on the treadmill ready to go. Wait no, I had to turn it on first and the switch is on the bottom in the front. Would I even remember how to run? Has it really been this long?
  2. My headphones are a piece of junk. So I bought them online because they were cute and on sale and there was a 5x the air miles promotion on. (I love points!) But seriously they kept falling out of my ears and the ear buds kept popping out of the housing. Ugh!
  3. I have a Type-A personality. But maybe I’m just a lazy,procrasinating type-A for tasks that don’t seem worthy. Either way this morning running was a worthy activity and I couldn’t help my inner voice from trying to push myself to the limits. The original plan was to take it easy and try out the Couch to 5k program with alternating 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking. Well that didn’t last long. I had quickly reasoned that I had once ran half-marathons and I could do better than that. A battle ensued between take-it-easy Taylor and go-all-out Taylor so I ran 4 min jog/2 min walk intervals instead as a relatively easy-going compromise.  For some people that is still a walk in the park.
  4. I am addicted to technology. I found it kind of ridiculous straping on my ipod on one arm and my BodyMedia FIT sensor on the other arm. And then there’s the nike+ sensor in my shoe. And the fact that I was running on a treadmill. Good thing I didn’t strap on my heart rate monitor and digital watch! I’ve heard that “running is freeing – all you need are a pair of shoes and a road.” Some people don’t even need the shoes. Some other people need to be wired up with every possible gadget. Is it sad that I still want the Garmin?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

