Skip to content

An Update on Vanity Sizing

May 2, 2011
tags:

Reading one of my favourite blogs today I got an update on the latest in the discrepancy of woman’s sizing from store to store. Vanity sizing is nothing new. But a recent New York Times article pointed out that sizes have been changing for decades.

A woman with a 32-inch bust would have worn a Size 14 in Sears’s 1937 catalog. By 1967, she would have worn an 8, Ms. Zulli found. Today, she would wear a zero.

The article also has a fancy-schmancy graphic which illustrates the sizing/proportion discrepancy for many designers for a size 8:

It’s interesting to see that my go-to favourite, Banana Republic, has more hip room than the other GAP brands. I know I’m “hippy” but I never realized there might be another reason I like BR so much – they probably fit better!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

