Skip to content

A Decapitation in the Netherlands!

May 18, 2011

There are three things that people think of when they think of the Netherlands; tulips, cheese, and windmills. Okay probably more like 5 things when you include weed and prostitutes.

As I wander the streets of Amsterdam I inevitably pass by many souvenir shops with their pretty postcards of the colourful fields of tulips. Strips of different coloured tulips in every variety stretch out across the land creating a beautiful scene. Something sort of like this:

With this image in mind Jen and I went to the Keukenhof Gardens, a hot tourist spot an hour outside of Amsterdam where all the tulip-lovers go. As we begin to walk throughout the grounds there are a few tulips here and there and some other flower varieties. That’s odd we thought.

It turns out that most of the tulips are decapitated in May. Yep, they cut their heads off. All the nice flowery bits. So we climbed the windmill and looked out to a sea of decapitated tulips. Very sad. I must remember to buy a postcard. It was quite disappointing to see all the headless tulips. I was really looking forward to this outing.

Decapitated tulips must have made the animals in the petting zoo quite sad. So sad that we have nicknamed it the “Melancholy Petting Zone.” Sad cow. Sad sheep. It even had an Emo pony (also known as Emony) which an impossibly sized erection.  Wow.  The chickens just looked like chickens though. Can they even look sad?

The gardens themselves were beautiful. I suspect that they would be even more wonderful in March or April, you know with tulips. There were many buildings with cut flowers to look at in every direction. The orchid building was my favourite. We spent around 4 hours walking around the property with a brief distraction where I beat Jen on a gigantic chess board! Checkmate! Muhahahaha….


8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2011 7:35 am

    Great photos! Do they sell t-shirts that say “I Came to See the Tulips But They Had No Heads”?

    • May 31, 2011 2:28 am

      I wish! I should photoshop that in.

      Or I PAID to see the tulips….

  2. Byron Jonah permalink
    May 27, 2011 1:44 am

    Judging from what I see on your web pages you are probably interested in a variety of things particularly people.

    In the summer of 1965 I worked for your Grandfather Hank at the Hardy Mine in Onaping as a rookie Engineering Student. At the end of the summer he mailed me a reference letter which I am going to try and attached it to this email. If it doesn’t work I’ll send it differently in another email.

    If you are interested in this letter I can give you more explanations.

    Next week I will be in Sudbury and Onaping to get more information about the Hardy Mine.

    Byron Jonah
    Edmonton, AB
    Ph. (780) 437-0551

  3. May 31, 2011 2:09 am

    Your pictures are absolutely beautiful. What kind of camera do you use?

    • May 31, 2011 2:27 am

      Thanks! I have a Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ5, a point and shoot. It’s the 2nd of 3 generations of the same camera line owned by my dad or me. I really like it!

      I’m planning to re-post the last few entries with new pictures now that I’m finally home and have some time.

Trackbacks

  1. The Netherlands Wrap-up « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog
  2. Flesh-Eating Plants and More at the Amsterdam Botanical Gardens « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog
  3. Miniature Horses, Alpacas, and Llamas – oh my! « The Sporadic Sprinter: a personal blog

Leave a Reply

