Skip to content

Wanted: a (slowish) running buddy

June 5, 2011

So I may have consumed a few too many fries with mayonnaise during my trip abroad. So much so that my clothes are starting to feel quite tight. Oopsie, but worth it. So it looks like it’s time to start running again. So I put out a call on Facebook: “I’m looking for a (slowish) running buddy in Sudbury. Anyone?” A surprising number of responses including:

What about if I follow you in my car? I can keep a cooler of water and light refreshments in the passenger seat. hehehehe

How about a ditch buddy? I can watch you run by while I lay in the ditch gasping for air.

I may actually call in the offer for car refreshments when my long runs are, well, long. Because that would be awesome. So incredibly awesome. And really, gasping for air in a ditch is a fairly accurate description of my running for the next month while my body accepts this “running thing” again.

Accepting a serious reponse for a running partner, Rob and I agreed to go for a 5 km run this evening. I warned him that I’m slow. Especially when I’m starting fresh (again). I mean the first time I ran after an extended break Dave he ended up power walking. So I tried to make a compromise and ran faster but took a lot more walk breaks.  Rob was nice and said that being forced to stay at a slow, steady pace was good for him. Allowed him to work on his form. Nice guy. I guess it wasn’t that bad because he’s agreed to go again sometime this week.

Maybe if I run with a faster partner I’ll actually run at a descent speed for once in my life. Left to my own devices I’m happy as a clam to stay a penguin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 10:38 pm

    Hi there! You commented on my blog at its old home a while back on a post about being a slow runner. Sorry I didn’t reply back then, I kinda disappeared for quite a while.

    Anyway, it’s too bad I’m not near Sudbury (or have heard of it…) because I think we’re of comparable paces. My fastest 5K was 35 minutes and my half-marathon time was 2:45.

    The thing I struggle with the most is missing out on the social aspect of running. I’m starting over again too. It seems to happen to me a lot. I love running too much to give up on it though!

    • October 7, 2011 11:43 am

      Wow, we do have comparable paces! I miss the social aspect of running too. I ran with a friend over the summer. Then got injured. Then got too lazy to start again after recovery. Now I want to start up again and my friend’s moved out of the province. Apparently I just need to find motivation within myself…pfft. I bought new shoes though so that’s something.

Leave a Reply

