Skip to content

Wine Snobs in Niagara

September 1, 2011

I first visited a Niagara winery three years ago. Dave was a fan of wine but I had never cared for it. I felt like wine fell into the category of acquired tastes but it was one I was actually interested in acquiring. I remember my first wine tasting at Vineland Estates Winery, where I would unknowingly be married a year and a half later. All I knew about wine at that point is that some are white and some are red. There were three expensively dressed women at the tasting bar discussing the wines. They were using all the snobby wine language to describe each wine. I remember rolling my eyes at these women and thinking they were making it all up. Can they really taste citrus and figs? Does swirling the wine in the glass really do anything or are they just trying to look cool? Dave and I would try each wine and simply answer “that’s good” or “no way.” And so began my future love affair with Riesling.

Flash forward to present day driving from winery to winery in Niagara-on-the-lake. Dave and I brought some friends of ours wine tasting. We started out at Chateau des Charmes Winery where our friends were suitably impressed by the grandiose nature of this winery and looked entertained by the tasting experience. By the fourth winery Dave and I had purchased wine from every winery whereas our friends were starting to look weary. It suddenly dawned on me that we might resemble wine snobs more than I thought. Sure we still prefer cheap wine (as long as it still tastes good) but now some of the stereotypes fit. Whereas our friends described the wine as “good” or “not good” as we had only three short years ago. We learned our lesson, cut the wine tour short, and spent the rest of the afternoon in Niagara Falls.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

