Skip to content

What I Know Now: The first 2 weeks of dieting

June 29, 2010

I have dieted many times over the last 5 years. My introduction to the dieting world was a little rocky. I thought I was eating healthy – I am a vegetarian and I didn’t eat a lot of junk food at the time. I went to see a nutritionist at the university who informed me I was eating more carbs than recommended for a professional athlete. Oh. But serving sizes didn’t make much sense to me since it was different for every food. It all started to click two years later when dieting became a mathematical equation. One pound of fat is equivalent to 3500 calories. In order to lose 1 lb per week you need to have a calorie deficit of 500 calories per day either by diet restriction or by exercise or some combination of the two. Finally a system I could understand!

The problem was I could optimize this equation – why not have a deficit of 1000 calories or more per day and lose even more weight! The thing I kept getting exhausted because I would go into overdrive. I can be very competitive, even with myself. This time is different.

This “first” 2 weeks of dieting  I have followed my usual modified weight watchers plan that has worked for me in the past but I have tried not to exercise. Sure Dave and I have gone on some weeknight walks and a weekend hike but nothing to my typical activity level. Here’s what I know now:

  • I lost the same amount of weight even though I’m not running x4 times a week and strength training.
  •  I’m not mentally of physically tired. It’s refreshing.
  • Dieting feels easier this time even though I’m less motivated.
  • I have gotten really good at estimating the number of calories in vegetarian fare. We went out for dinner and I estimated the number of WW points for my meal. I checked the nutritional information online when we got home and I was off by only 40 calories.
No comments yet

Leave a comment